Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Archives and Special Collections: Citing Archival Material

Archive Citation

Formatting of archival citation is dependent on a variety of factors, in particular the preference of an instructor and/or the publication you are writing for. Regardless of the specific citation form, all materials from the Meadville Lombard Archives have a collection number, collection name, and box number that should be included in any citation. Processed collections will often include folder numbers and digitized collections will include item numbers that should also included in the citation. For purposes of archival citations, the formal name of the Meadville Lombard Archives is "Archives and Special Collections, Meadville Lombard Theological School."

If you have any questions about citing items from the Meadville Lombard Archives and Special collections, please email archives@meadville.edu.

Ask an Archivist

If you have any questions about the Meadville Lombard Archives and Special Collections, just ask!

We can help with...

  • Scheduling an archive visit
  • Accessing archival materials
  • Using our digital archive tools
  • Answering reference questions
  • Scanning selections of documents
  • Donating archival material to Meadville Lombard
  • Creating archives at your local congregation