Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Mūlāni Global U/U Special Collection: Home

Mulani Global U/U Special Collection

Mūlāni is a Sanskrit word that means “to take root.” The Mūlāni Global U/U Special Collection serves as the repository for materials that document the deep roots of Unitarian, Universalist, and Unitarian Universalist (U/U) international communities. This special collection contains stories, correspondence, sermons, projects, and other materials that shed light on the past and inform future international endeavors.

Mūlāni is a resource for those who are interested in the U/U international story as well as congregations and organizations looking to preserve their documents.

Using the Mūlāni Global U/U Special Collection

With few exceptions, the entirety of the Sankofa Special is open to researchers. Archives staff will inform you if there are any donor placed restrictions on access to a particular collection.

Ask an Archivist

If you have any questions about the Meadville Lombard Archives and Special Collections, just ask!

We can help with...

  • Scheduling an archive visit
  • Accessing archival materials
  • Using our digital archive tools
  • Answering reference questions
  • Scanning selections of documents
  • Donating archival material to Meadville Lombard
  • Creating archives at your local congregation

Steering Committee

Each Special Collection is guided by a steering committee. The chair of the Mūlāni Global U/U Special Collection Steering Committee is Mahesh Upadhyaya. To contact him, email Mahesh Upadhyaya here.