Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Articles and Journals: Digital

Wiggin Library provides access to thousands of journals and other periodicals online in addition to print journals and periodicals. This page provides an overview of the most common digital databases used by our students. To learn more about our print periodicals and journals, click the Print tab above. 

Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials

Atla Religion Database logoThe Atla Religion Database is an extensive index of journal articles, book reviews, and essays from thousands of full-text religion and theology journals hosted through EBSCO. Containing over 2 million articles, it is one of the largest collections of religion scholarship available to researchers. It contains both full-text articles and abstracts. If you need to access an article that is not full-text, click the "Request Article via Interlibrary Loan" button below and we will attempt to acquire the article through interlibrary loan. Faculty or Student Login Required. 

JSTOR Religion and Theology Collection

JSTOR logoThe JSTOR Religion and Theology Collection provides access to academic journals covering the history and philosophy of religion. While there is some overlap with the Atla Religion Database, JSTOR-Religion and Theology contains journals not in the Atla Religion Database. It contains both full-text articles and abstracts. If you need to access an article that is not full-text, click the "Request Article via Interlibrary Loan" button below and we will attempt to acquire the article through interlibrary loanFaculty or Student Login Required

Open Access Digital Theological Library

Open Access Digital Theological Library logoOpen Access Digital Theological Library (OADTL) curates high-quality content in religious studies and related disciplines from publisher websites, institutional repositories, scholarly societies, archives, and stable public domain collections. The OADTL contains articles, dissertations, ebooks, and digitized historical documents.

Atla Research in Ministry

atla Research in Ministry logoResearch in Ministry (RIM) is a thesis and dissertation abstract database where users can search for and share the outcomes of research conducted in programs of study related to ministry, theology and religion. Containing over 14,000 records, RIM provides searchable access to abstracts for theses, dissertations and other terminal projects completed in graduate programs of study. 

 

Academic Search Complete

Designed for academic institutions, Academic Search Complete provides complete coverage of multidisciplinary academic journals. Content includes over 13,780 indexed and abstracted journals, 9,000 full-text journals, full text for more than 7,850 peer-reviewed journals, PDF dating back to 1887, and searchable cited references for more than 1,400 journals. Academic Search Complete is a leading source of peer-reviewed, full-text for STM research, as well as for the Social Sciences and Humanities, providing coverage of information spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and more. Faculty or Student Login Required

Other Databases

Goggle Scholar logoGoogle Scholar is a freely accessible web search engine that indexes scholarly literature across various publishing formats and disciplines. This is an excellent source for journals and articles not explicitly connected to the academic study of religion. While Google Scholar sometimes includes full-text access, most often it only includes only a citation. If you need to access an article that is not full-text, click the "Request Article via Interlibrary Loan" button below and we will attempt to acquire the article through interlibrary loan.

The Internet Archive Scholar search index includes over 25 million research articles and other scholarly documents preserved in the Internet Archive. The collection spans from digitized copies of eighteenth century journals through the latest Open Access conference proceedings and pre-prints crawled from the World Wide Web.

ERIC logoERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. The database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. This database is particularly useful for religious educators. While ERIC often includes full-text access, sometimes it only includes only a citation. If you need to access an article that is not full-text, click the "Request Article via Interlibrary Loan" button below and we will attempt to acquire the article through interlibrary loan.

Ask a Librarian

If you have any questions about the Meadville Lombard Library, just ask!

We can help with...

  • Checking out books
  • Finding articles
  • Requesting interlibrary loans
  • Using digital resources
  • Answering research and reference questions
  • Citing your work

Interlibrary Loan

Students and faculty can request articles through interlibrary loan through the link below. If you have questions, please email us at library@meadville.edu 
 

Looking for more resources?

The resources described on this page are among our most used general resources. If you are looking for more specialized databases and resources, check out the link below. We have over 400 databases and other digital resources available.  

Book Displays

Click the link below to check out the various book displays we update throughout the year. Current displays include new books, books written by faculty and alumni, and new books published by Skinner House.